t is with relative certainty that we may assume there were Roman settlements in the area of this village during their conquest of this region. The ending "heim" to a town name indicates that the town dates to the Franconian epoch: thus Oetigheim was the "home of Ottinc", dating permanent inhabitation to about the year 500. The first documented mention of the town is in 788, during the reign of "Karl the Great", while the Saxon wars were being waged.
Oetigheim suffered the same catastrophes as the other villages in this area during the middle ages and was subjected to countless accounts of looting and pillaging by wandering bands of mercenaries. The town was rebuilt after those incidents and was able to prosper despite the upheaval that surrounded it.
It is interesting to note that the town has been referred to, in various documents, by 22 different names since the 17 century. It is not surprising then that even today, the village is referred to by three different names by the local inhabitants; Oetigheim, Oetinge and Eetje.
The village has, since the turn of the century, moved away from its agricultural past and has developed into a modern housing community serving the needs of a technological society. The village boasts a number of attractions not the least of which is its "Volksschauspiel", open air theater. First performing in 1910, the theater attracted more than 100,000 people that year to its production of the play "Wilhelm Tell".